Minutes of the County Council Meeting held on 20 July 2017

Present:

Attendance		
Ben Adams	Michael Greatorex	Natasha Pullen
Charlotte Atkins	Gill Heath	Kyle Robinson
Philip Atkins, OBE	Phil Hewitt	David Smith
Ann Beech	Syed Hussain	Paul Snape
David Brookes	Keith James	Mike Sutherland
Gill Burnett	Julia Jessel	Mark Sutton
Ron Clarke	Trevor Johnson	Stephen Sweeney
Tina Clements	Dave Jones	Simon Tagg
Maureen Compton	Jason Jones	Martyn Tittley
John Cooper	lan Lawson	Carolyn Trowbridge
Mike Davies	Alastair Little	Ross Ward
Derek Davis, OBE	Robert Marshall	Alan White
Mark Deaville	Johnny McMahon	Philip White
Alan Dudson	Paul Northcott	Conor Wileman
Janet Eagland	Jeremy Oates	Bernard Williams
Ann Edgeller	lan Parry	David Williams
Helen Fisher	Kath Perry	Victoria Wilson
Keith Flunder	Jeremy Pert	Mark Winnington
John Francis	Bernard Peters	Susan Woodward
Colin Greatorex	Jonathan Price	Mike Worthington

Apologies for absence: Jill Hood

PART ONE

1. Appointment of Honorary Aldermen

Several Members paid tribute to the contributions made by Mr Bloomer, Mr Corbett, Mr Davies, Mrs Dean, Mr Day, Mr Edwards, Mr Finn, Mr Fraser and Mr Lawrence during the years they had served as Members of the County Council.

The Chairman informed the Council that the Chief Executive had received notification from Mrs Dean that she wished to decline the offer of being appointed as an Honorary Alderman.

The Chairman also indicated that Mr Davies was unable to attend the meeting due to unforeseen circumstances and that alternative arrangements would therefore be made to present him with his award at an appropriate occasion.

On the motion of the Chairman of the County Council it was:-

RESOLVED – (a) That, in accordance with Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972, the title of Honorary Alderman be conferred on **Len Bloomer** of Seighford in the County of Stafford in recognition of his eminent services as a past member representing

the Stafford Trent Valley (Stafford) County Electoral Division on the County Council from 2001 to 2017

(b) That, in accordance with Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972, the title of Honorary Alderman be conferred on **Timothy James Corbett** of Newborough in the County of Stafford in recognition of his eminent services as a past member representing the Needwood Forest (East Staffordshire) County Electoral Division on the County Council from 2001 to 2017.

(c) That, in accordance with Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972, the title of Honorary Alderman be conferred on **Peter Davies** of Stretton in the County of Stafford in recognition of his eminent services as a past member representing the Burton Trent (East Staffordshire) County Electoral Division on the County Council from 2005 to 2017.

(d) That, in accordance with Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972, the title of Honorary Alderman be conferred on **William Day** of Werrington in the County of Stafford in recognition of his eminent services as a past member representing the Caverswall (Staffordshire Moorlands) County Electoral Division on the County Council from 2001 to 2017.

(e) That, in accordance with Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972, the title of Honorary Alderman be conferred on **Brian Edwards MBE** of Kinver in the County of Stafford in recognition of his eminent services as a past member representing the Kinver (South Staffordshire) County Electoral Division on the County Council from 1989 to 2017.

(f) That, in accordance with Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972, the title of Honorary Alderman be conferred on **Terence Finn** of Lichfield in the County of Stafford in recognition of his eminent services as a past member representing the Lichfield City South (Lichfield) County Electoral Division on the County Council from 2001 to 2017.

(g) That, in accordance with Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972, the title of Honorary Alderman be conferred on **Bob Fraser** of Burton upon Trent in the County of Stafford in recognition of his eminent services as a past member representing the Dove (East Staffordshire) County Electoral Division on the County Council from 2005 to 2017.

(h) That, in accordance with Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972, the title of Honorary Alderman be conferred on **Michael Lawrence** of Featherstone in the County of Stafford in recognition of his eminent services as a past member representing the Cheslyn Hay and Essington (South Staffordshire) County Electoral Division on the County Council from 2005 to 2017.

2. Presentation of Members' Long Service Awards

The Chairman presented Long Service Awards to the following Members in recognition of their 12 years' service as a Member of the County Council.

- Peter Davies
- Janet Eagland
- Bob Fraser

- Michael Lawrence
- Kathleen Perry
- Mark Winnington

Note: Mr Davies was unable to attend the meeting due to unforeseen circumstances and alternative arrangements would therefore be made to present him with his award.

Chairman